An analysis of the portrayal of teenagers lives in the novel looking for alibrandi by melina marchet

The novel points out topical aspects, like multiculturalism, immigration, social differences, but also themes like love, friendship and family life.

An analysis of the portrayal of teenagers lives in the novel looking for alibrandi by melina marchet

When you are a young adult, you innately have what Hemingway considers crucial for every serious writer: You know how to recognise an earnest voice, and sift it from disingenuous voices that might be more technically sophisticated. This is the blessing and curse of reading really good writing: Our own thoughts seem pedestrian and suburban, ever revolving around school and home.

Finally, this was the voice of a teenage Australian girl. This is why the book is iconic — here is a protagonist who does not conform to ethnic stereotypes of demure oppression or unbridled Italian emoting. There are no wailing victims of patriarchy, no big familial feasts featuring big bowls of pasta.

No charges of chauvinism or cringing self-indulgent woe-is-me stories of being teased for school lunchbox pastrami sandwiches. It is the real deal and it is still extraordinary, twenty years after first publication.

Melina Marchetta understood teenagers. She knew they were more stoic than popular culture and Dolly magazine gave them credit. These are deep philosophical musings on life, and they take place in the most ordinary of settings: They take place in spaces all young adults inhabit.

It is a book that, in the tradition of J. Salinger and Vera Brittain, speaks about the vicissitudes of moody teenagers: Sometimes I feel like a junkie.

She could have been me in my adolescent moodiness. Like Asians, Mediterraneans appeared on commercial television only if they made fun of themselves. So we had Con the Fruiterer, Effie, and later, the multicultural cast of Fat Pizza which included the first mail-order bride boat person ; and we called this our self-depreciating, larrikin sense of humour.

So making fun of ourselves was often tinged with some degree of self-loathing. She is self aware — she makes fun of herself and her family, but it is a gentle and self-contained humour. Ethnic is a word that you people use to put us all in a category.

This is ridiculous, because everyone has an ethnicity. It also erases our first peoples. My friend, the writer Anita Heiss, recalls overhearing two people on a plane trip discussing their ancestry. When this book came out, it was ground-breaking.

It was a book that made it possible for a generation of young adults to identify as Italian-Australians. It showed them that they did not have to choose between one or the other.

And it became popular and loved largely because librarians and English teachers all over Australia believed students should not shy away from stories about themselves, dealing with issues they faced day-to-day.

And her character is strung together by the stories her mother Christina and Nonna Katia tell her about strong, stoic women who do not conform to stereotypes.

When her father comes back into her life, she and her mother do not feel dependent on him. Nonna Katia was dependent on her husband, and while her mother has a job as a medical receptionist, Josie wants a career and not just a job. She wants to be a barrister to show up the stifling scuttlebutts in her Italian community: But her mother advises differently: I detest that word.

Probably because in this world you have to respect the wrong people for the wrong reasons. Today, such a narrative would be covered by a sheen of self-awareness and perhaps even a mean streak of ironic humour. Yet she learns that although the actions and decisions of her parents and ancestors might shape who she is, they do not determine who she will be.

And deep inside, she respects the underdog more than the privileged. Women like her mother and grandmother made important life decisions in their teenage years.Her name is Josephine Alibrandi who is a 17 year old Italian Australian or ‘wog’ as some know it, in the novel and film of ‘Looking for Alibrandi’.

Much of the discussion of Alibrandi has centred around this portrayal of the multi-cultural society of Australia, although remarkably, the novel has managed to largely avoid the negative and superficial “issues” pigeon-holing so much realist fiction for young adults is .

Looking for Alibrandi is an Australian rite of passage, and I'm embarrassed that it has taken me so long to discover another Melina Marchetta masterpiece. I live in Melbourne, which has almost half of the Italian Australian population.

Looking for Alibrandi {} is a novel written by Melina Marchetta, which presents to us the internal conflict that immigrant children face in a multicultural society. Throughout the novel Josephine Alibrandi struggles to find her personal and cultural identity, she is trying to find who she is.

Looking For Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta Essay - Looking for Alibrandi is a passionate story about a young girl's painful and enlightening journey into adulthood. The story centres around Josephine Alibrandi - an agressive, disatisfied, and confused final year student of Italian extraction.

Jun 11,  · Marchetta, M. Looking for Alibrandi. Penguin Australia, Further readingThese books will help put Looking for Alibrandi in context. First of course are Melina Marchetta’s other wonderful related works: Saving Francesca. On the Jellicoe Road.

An analysis of the portrayal of teenagers lives in the novel looking for alibrandi by melina marchet

Also visit Melina Marchetta’s website/5(4). Looking for Alibrandi Questions and Answers. The Question and Answer section for Looking for Alibrandi is a great resource to ask questions, find answers, and discuss the novel.

Looking For Alibrandi | Melina Marchetta